WIPMarathon Check -In #1

Want to learn more about WIPMarathon? Click here

Last Check-in Wordcount + ChapterCount : So far through WIPmarathon, I have written 8,252 words. I am a little behind schedule, but plan to make it up this week! I am determined.

Current WC + CC (or SC): My current word count is 17,022. It’s a slow process, but I really do enjoy it.

WIP Issues this week: So my issues this week did not pertain to writing, but definitely effected it! My 3 month old son has been super cranky and hating nap time. Also has been waking up 4 times during the night. This really put me in a bad place emotionally this whole week. Thank goodness for my wonderful critique partner who listened to my rants. My hubby took my son down to the in-laws and I am feeling much more human now.

What I learnt this week in writing:Ā Well, I learned that editing is so important to the writing process. I went through my whole wip and identified all the places where I was telling instead of showing. This helped me make my writing stronger.

What distracted me this week while writing: My kid. If it weren’t for friends and family I think I would probably have jumped out of my window by now…But let’s focus on the positive šŸ™‚

I also got blank-page syndrome this week. It took some free writing and plotting, but I finally got past it. Yay!

2 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Check -In #1

  1. I’m hoping for a less distracting week for you!
    You’re doing pretty good so far, though. šŸ™‚

    Interesting excerpt!

Leave a Reply

