WIPMarathon Final Check-In

 First of all, I would like to thank Ifeoma for putting this all together. I have met some great people because of her! The fabulous writers who participated in this have blown me away with their dedication and talent, and have pushed me to better myself as a writer. So, thank you!

Current word count:

So, I had an awesome idea the other night, which then caused me to make some changes to my MS, meaning I had to delete a ton of stuff. Currently I am at 26,002, which is less than last week, but that is because I had to delete a few scenes. I am okay with this, because I now feel like my wip is going in a better direction.   

WIP issues this week:

Figuring out that there were too many love triangles. It confused me, so I knew it would definitely confuse my readers. I figured out what to do, though, thanks to my two awesome CPs! Love you René and Jess!

 

What I learnt this week in writing:

It’s really hard deleting work that you spent so much time on. It physically pained me to delete scenes, but you know what? My writing will be stronger because of it. 🙂

I also learned that when a bunch of people get together with a common goal, amazing things happen. I have been so impressed with the excerpts people have posted, literally blown away. You are all so talented and I am a better person for having met you all.

What distracted me this week while writing:

The usual. Kid, Twitter, daddy putting Desitin under son’s eyes to make it look like war paint *sigh*

Last 200 words: I am not going to post my last 200 this week because it is a major spoiler to my book, and it is very unedited, meaning I wrote it at 11 at night with a few glasses of wine in me…I’m sure it has typos galore and I can’t have that swimming around the internet! 🙂

I look forward to still sprinting with you guys! Even though we aren’t doing WIPMarathon anymore doesn’t mean we can’t still push each other!

6 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Final Check-In

  1. If you could have seen my face with the Desitin under the sons eyes. I love you too Jen, and I can’t wait until Tuesday when I can start CP’ing your awesome ms again. Congrats on the word count. I know you wanted more, but it’s a huge accomplishment and I’m so proud of you!

  2. Part of me is dreading getting to edits because I know there are going to be lots of scenes and dialogue exchanges and the like that I will need to cut and I know I won’t want to. It’s tough but you’re right, it makes it better in the long run.

    Good luck with the rest of your writing!

  3. Major kudos for the breakthrough! It’s so hard to cut things, but it will totally be worth it. I know I feel almost physical pain when I delete a big chunk of something.

    Congrats on all the progress you’ve made this month! Good luck with this story! See you around the hashtag?

  4. Omg. LOL at the Desitin. Oh, daddies. ahahah!
    Congratulations on the word count and the breakthroughs. This had been such a great experience and I’m so glad to have made so many cool connections to other writers this month. I’m glad we’re making plans to keep in touch through the hashtag. 🙂 xo -cat

  5. Awww Jen you were such an inspiration too! And I remember the night you had that new idea! It was during one of our sprints.
    I can’t wait to see how your project goes, and I hope you keep us updated!

    Thanks so much for being a part of this! ❤

  6. Deleting stuff is super difficult but also super productive in its own way when it ends up making your writing clearer and more streamlined. I need to practice “killing my darlings”, as one of my writing mentors used to call it. Well done on all the progress!!

Leave a Reply

