Pitch Wars

Hello wonderful people interested in Pitch Wars!

As you guessed, I am a mentor for this wonderful contest Brenda Drake has put on! Click here for more information about Pitch Wars.

I guess I should tell a little about myself.

Well, hi, my name is Jen. 

I write New Adult Contemporary Romance, and have two books coming out with Entangled later this year! I am also an editorial intern for Entangled. I read submissions for the Embrace and Teen line. When I am not writing or reading submissions, I am teaching middle school language arts. Though this is my first year as a mentor, editing and critiquing is my job. I love to dig deep and flesh out plot issues. I am also a stickler for grammar, so I will make sure your book is as error-free as possible!

Okay, now for the good stuff!

This year I am mentoring Adult and NA entries.

My wish list:

Adult:

Romance- I especially love contemporary romance. The steamier, the better!

Tropes I love-

*Enemies to lovers

*Older brother’s best friend

*Second chance love

If you have any of these, please send my way! (Really, I am open to any trope in romance)

NA:

Romance- I AM DYING FOR A STUDY ABROAD NOVEL. Something along the lines of Stephanie Perkins’s Anna and the French Kiss, Lia Riley’s Upside Down, and AJ Pine’s If Only. If you have something like this, send it my way. I will die of happiness. And then my ghost self will help you edit it into a beautiful, submission-ready book.  But really, I am interested in ALL romance in the New Adult category.

Mystery- I would love to get my hands on a good sleuth novel. I have a soft spot for witty/snarky characters. If your character is sassy and a badass like Veronica Mars, please send my way.

Not on my wish list:

Paranormal

Science Fiction

Fantasy

Thrillers

Anything involving rape (I can’t handle the subject, and you want someone who will be able to help you out with your MS)

And that concludes my wish list for Pitch Wars! I can’t wait to get my hands on your submissions!

 

Go check out the other awesome mentors on the blog hop!

Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets — Easy-Linky widget will appear right here!
This preview will disappear when the widget is displayed on your site.
If this widget does not appear, click here to display it.

 

14 thoughts on “Pitch Wars

  1. Hi, Jen! You’re not seeking my category for PitchWars, but I had to give a virtual wave to a fellow middle school teacher! Thanks for participating! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pitch Wars Mentor Bio | Ben L. J. Brooks

  3. Hello! What you like to read sounds very similar to what I like to read :p Mine is a contemp romance so hoping to send your way 🙂 Thank you for posting this and for being a mentor!

  4. Pingback: #PitchWars Mentor Bio Blog Hop! | Jessie Devine

Leave a Reply

